About Myself – The journey here

My name is Marie and I am 32 years old. I have always been passionate about drawing, painting and just making things. This applies to many areas in my life, including interior design and photography. In fact, I am a self taught photographer and I have been working professionally as a photographer since 2011. As a child/teenager I wanted to be a clothing designer, but after I finished high school I was unsure about what to pursue as I knew life as an artist would be hard in a work field with so much competition. So I just started working various jobs and traveling, while thinking it would eventually lead me to a final decision about what to do about my life.

In 2008 I met a man from Chicago, Illinois, United States. I was working in Oslo and he was on a business trip. We met at bar and instantly felt a connection. We visited one another several times and six months later we were married! 🙂 I applied for my green card to be able to live and work in the US, and a year later I moved to Chicago. I applied for college at Columbia University, studying media and communication, however I fell pregnant with my first child within a couple months of living there and I decided to postpone my studies for a couple years. Since daycare is so expensive in the US (we lived in the heart of Chicago which made it even more expensive) I decided to stay home with James until he started school.  In 2014 my second child, Stella, was born. We had been trying to conceive a brother/sister for James for a few years without success, and she was a surprise baby a year after we stopped actively trying for a baby after a few losses. Again, I had applied for Columbia and had gotten accepted when I found out I was pregnant with Stella, and same story… I postponed my studies.

In 2016 I had gotten to the point where I was extremely homesick as I only saw my family in Norway once a year, and I knew it was now or never. James had just started school and started to grow roots in Chicago. My husband and I had also grown apart (I was 22 when we got married… Just a baby myself!)  and we both felt like we were just two best friends living together raising our children. So I made a life changing decision to move back to Norway with my kids. I was a bit lost when I moved here, trying to figure out what to do further. For the past couple of years I have been living with my mother and stepdad in Northern Norway, in a town called Nordreisa (about a 3 hour drive north of Tromsø). I´ve been working on and off as a photographer, while trying to find my path in life. I have been thinking about graphic design for a while as I thought it would be a nice way to implement my passion for photography and drawing/painting into a career that could lead me in a numerous ways in the work field. So I finally took the leap and applied for graphic design at Noroff, and I finally feel like I am on the right track! It feels really, really good to have started this journey, and I can´t wait to share in on my fellow students´road to success!

dsc_7741.jpg(Photo from my trip to Verona, Italy in December 2017)

I look forward to seeing what we all can do, how our different journeys will evolve and how our skills within graphic design will improve and bloom! I also look forward to getting to know you all and our tutors; I already feel like I am connected to a real life community of creative minds alike, and I am so happy and thankful to have been accepted into this community. Lets make these next two years fun and full of learning!

As the first LA also included a self portrait, here I present you with mine. I decided to first draw and then paint with watercolors. I hope you like it 🙂

IMG_1312

Sincerely,

Marie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s